Tags

, , , ,

Yet another interview was posted today about GW2 over at Massively.com. This one is mostly written for people new to Guild Wars and covers a lot of basic information about professions, races, and the 3 new novels (I should get my copy of Ghosts of Ascalon in the mail soon!). There was one section of the interview that I though was pretty pertinent to GW for me:

What writing advice do you have for fans who enjoy fanfiction within the Guild Wars universe?

It’s a big world. You don’t have to keep within one epic or one large structure. In Guild Wars 2 the dragons are the greatest threat, but there’s so much more going on. It’s a living world; it’s a dynamic world. There are places where you find your piece of earth and you can develop and play with it.

We have events, we talked about events like centaurs attacking, but we also have tiny events that are just “What was that? How’s that going to happen?” They run the whole range, and I recommend that for anyone who’s writing fiction, who’s setting it in the Guild Wars world. It’s a big world. Come find a place for yourself that you’re comfortable with.

I’ve always liked telling stories. That’s what Chronicles of the Eremite was all about: telling my character’s story within the GW universe. Every character I’ve created in GW and other role-playing games has had his/he/its own background story–even those used for one-shot campaigns. I feel that I better understand my character if I know where he/she has been. Plus, I enjoy writing and putting my characters in situations to see how they would react. It is the conflict of character in all of the novels I read that I enjoy the most. What is character development without conflict afterall?

Much of Belzan’s story in GW1 did not involve the actual plot events of Tyria, Cantha, Elona, or EotN. They were short stories and occasionally based on in game quests. I might mention the overarching story in passing, but it wasn’t my focus. I liked this aspect of LOTRO a lot, but the montly fee kept me from bothering to explore it more.

That being said, I can’t help but share the first thing that came to mind when reading this part of the interview. When Jeff Grubb said “it’s a big world,” I couldn’t help but think about Yakko Warner. I give you Yakko’s Universe Song. Enjoy.

